Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

7 Quick Takes: A Day Late and A Couple Dollars Short

on October 6, 2012

Charlene told me I have to blog, so here I am. I was going to write this last night after work. I really was! But then, well, let’s move on to number 1.

1. Rangers. Oh, my sweet Rangers. I would have laughed at you if you told me in April or May that they weren’t going to go all the way this year. Even after a bad June/July, they seemed to be hanging on. But these past few weeks, brutal. I went to last Tuesday’s game and experienced my first loss of the season. Then I went to Sunday’s game and held out some hope, despite a loss. Wednesday I left work and went to Applebee’s to watch the end of the game (no cable) and saw them implode and let the AL West fall out of their grasp. But there was still the Wild Card slot, and when Amy texted me yesterday at 2pm to say she had just bought tickets, did I want to go? My answer was a resounding YES. I’m glad I was there, but sad the season is over. The players actually weren’t the biggest disappointment to me last night. Some of the fans were. You know what, that’s gong to be the next item.

2. Most of the fans last night were great. But some, oh some. The Rangers had a great season, even if it didn’t end they way we wanted. Some fans last night were boo-ing our own players (unacceptable), left early (way to show your support), and I heard a few clapping when the O’s player was hit by a pitch. Not when he stood up and walked to 1st base and they clapped to show support of him being ok, they clapped when he went down. I don’t care who it is, you don’t celebrate an injury. The leaving early bothers me the least because some people may have legitimate reason to leave, but the boo-ing, etc annoyed me greatly. We need more good sports in this world.

3. In other news, my new-to-me car is great! So nice to have a quiet ride and not make noises when shifting gears, braking, etc. Oh, and to have a door handle that isn’t broken. And no lights on on the dash. So nice. But the best thing about it is:

4. XM Radio. It’s a long story, but I have it 3 month free. I so love it. I haven’t even explored all the channels, but 90s on 9 is fantastic. How did I live without this?

5. My social calendar has picked up considerably recently which is a good thing. I kept a low profile last year, which is good, but I enjoy being with friends far too much to keep that up too long. I’ve even made some recent new friends. It sounds silly, but I think it can be a challenge to meet new people when you get older. Especially if you’re not married and don’t have kids. All those common bonds that make playdates and Mom groups work don’t happen if you’re not a Mom. Not that it’s impossible, it just creates its own challenges. The single life isn’t always glamorous, in fact I’d say it rarely is.

6. One of the events I went to recently was a Strengthsfinder retreat. I’ve done one previously (here and here), so it was interesting to go through it again and find some new strengths and how they are applying to my life now. For the record, this time around I was Maximizer, Relator, Achiever, Communication and Learner.

7.  I think I’ve mentioned before what a t.v. addict I am. Some recent shows I’ve watched via Netflix and Hulu: Scandal, Go On, Make It or Break It, and last season’s The Office. Up next: Friday Night Lights and Once Upon a Time.

go to Conversion Diary to see more quick takes

One response to “7 Quick Takes: A Day Late and A Couple Dollars Short

  1. Charlene says:

    i meant to ask you more about what the strengths mean when i saw you tonight, but forgot! i guess I’ll have to see I again soon! thanks for the update!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

