Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

What’s the Frequency, Kenneth?

on April 3, 2008

One of the nice things about my job is that since it’s independent work that is not on the phone, I can listen to my ipod or the radio. My friend Jared recently listed some blogs he reads; I thought I would list some of the stuff I listen to. (note: ideally, I would listen to the local Catholic radio station, but it’s AM and is not received in the office. And we can’t stream stuff because of the broadband.)

Mornings: From 7:30-10, I listen to Kidd Kraddick. When I was growing up, I didn’t like his show. At all. However, in Lubbock, the options are limited, so when I had to drive around doing errands every morning in an old truck with no cd player, it began to grow on me. Now I love it.

Podcasts: I like to learn things, so I have a couple of podcasts I listen to that are educational. My new favorite is Grammar Girl. The podcasts are short (5 minutes or less), but very informational. I also like listening to one of her counterparts, the Get-It-Done Guy. Despite what the name implies, the podcast is subtitled “tips to work less and do more.” He gives tips on being more efficient and stuff. In the Catholic realm, I like listening to Daily Breakfast with Fr. Roderick, EWTN, and some podcasts from a local church. All of these cover either relevant topics or catechesis. (all of these can be acessed through iTunes; you don’t have to go to the websites)

Afternoon: From 2-4, I listen to Dr. Laura. I know, a lot of you just went “eww.” While I don’t agree with her 100% of the time, most of what she says makes sense. Plus I like that she is not afraid to tell people they are acting wrong or stupid. So many call-in hosts (especially the ones I’ve heard in this area) will do nothing but stroke people’s egos and tell them that “everything is ok.” Whatever. Some people need to be told they are making bad decisions.

So there you go. Now, some days I don’t listen to podcasts and just jam out to music, but for the most part, that’s my work day.

**UPDATE** Not three hours after originally posting this article, I went to plug in my ipod and update with new podcasts and the like. And it wouldn’t turn on. My heart somewhat stopped. I tried a few things, went to bed, left it plugged in to the computer, and now it’s just fine. Whew!

3 responses to “What’s the Frequency, Kenneth?

  1. mbehnke says:

    haha, I thought of you today! Since I’ve been stuck in bed, I haven’t listened to Kidd Kraddick, which I usually do in the car on the way to work. This afternoon I thought to myself, “I wonder how the gang is doing…” We are a little pitiful!

  2. hollisonjourney says:

    You can listen on their website, plus there is always the K-Pod. 🙂 Are you bed-ridden or just not feeling well? Either way, if you need company, let me know!

  3. jaredbares says:

    R.E.M., too easy.

Leave a Reply

