Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

They Say It’s Your Birthday…

on May 11, 2008

Saturday marked the 26th birthday of one of my most favorite people – JPK. I’ll admit, part of the reason that I love his birthday is that it means for the next 7 months he can’t harass me for being older than him.

Several of us gathered at Champps for the festivities and watching the Stars game (sadly, they couldn’t give the lovely birthday gift of a win), and then we headed back to my apartment. One of Joe’s favorite desserts is tiramisu, so I made him a mock tiramisu. I had seen the recipe months ago and stored it for his birthday. It did not disappoint! Joe loved it.

Earlier in the evening we had been discussing how we knew several people with May 10th birthdays and Joe brought up the fact that it is a pivotal part of the movie Identity. Oddly enough, my roommate and I have that movie, so Joe, me, Ben, Carrie and Andrea watched it. I’d forgotten how good of a movie it is, though it doesn’t exactly scream “birthday party!” Oh well, it was fun and hopefully Joe won’t die soon.

My camera wouldn’t work in Champps, so here is the pics from the apartment:

I didn’t have birthday candles, so Joe blew out the birthday votive.

Me, Joe, and the amazing cake/tiramisu:

One response to “They Say It’s Your Birthday…

  1. Macayla Jo Adams says:

    Awww, I love Joe! Tell him I wish him a happy belated birthday. That cake looks yummy!

    Just so you know, I’m working on plans for a slumber party at my house sometime in the next couple of months. I’ll be sending out what dates are available for me, and then we’ll see what works for everyone else.

    love ya!

Leave a Reply

