Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

The 4 Day Attitude Diet: Day 2

on May 30, 2008

Positive Attitude Diet Day 2: Affirm yourself.

To build a positive attitude you must remind yourself of past victories. Congratulate yourself on the good you have done and will do. And refuse to let any self-doubt enter your mind. Just tell yourself over and over,
“I am filled with confidence, and I am competent.”

And when you make a mistake, learn the lesson in that mistake and laugh at yourself. In fact people who can’t laugh at themselves are not only more negative, but they’re also more susceptible to cancer, stroke, and heart disease. So laugh… and affirm the fact you’re learning and growing.

Of course you may have some doubts about yourself. But on day 2, literally, consciously feed yourself with positive affirmations. As boxing champ Sugar Ray Robinson said, “To be a champ, you have to believe in yourself when nobody else will.” And Dolly Parton added, “I’m not offended by all the dumb blonde jokes because I know that I’m not dumb… and I also know that I’m not blonde.”

You know this thing is great when it quotes Dolly. Since this one didn’t have a list attached to it, I’ll just write a few things. Day 2 wasn’t difficult for me, which is saying quite a lot since I’m not always my biggest fan. I think the thing that made the difference is that from the beginning one of the things I told myself was that I was where God wanted me to be in life at that moment – or at least I was striving for that. Now, the fun thing about God is that it where I am now may not be where He wants me to be tomorrow, but I trust that I will figure that out. With His help of course. In any case, trusting that as long as I follow Him I will be living my best life, makes it only that much easier to erase any self-doubt.

In the words of Stuart Smalley, even on bad days, “I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, people like me!”

Leave a Reply

