Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Positive Attitude Diet Day 3: Think only good things about people.

on May 31, 2008

Positive Attitude Diet Day 3: Think only good things about people.

Don’t allow ill thoughts to enter your mind. Look for something you like in everyone you meet. One person might have a great smile, and another one might be extremely dedicated to his work. You can always find
something you like.

Of course, you may think this a rather Pollyannaish activity…especially if you’re working with some very difficult people. No problem. Simply see these people as giving you an opportunity to learn patience and practice assertiveness. That’s something you can like.

I am blessed to be surrounded by people at work and in my personal life who are just freaking awesome. But I’ll admit, negative thoughts sometimes spew from my brain, even towards people I love. I know this affects my mood sometimes and even my attitude. I tried really hard today to not let those thoughts overtake me. At one point I was reminded of something I read in the book Captivated. One of the authors, Staci, was talking about how sometimes she justs get so upset with her husband. Then one day she commanded the negativity out of her, as you would a demon. The feelings went away. I tried to keep that in mind today. The negative thoughts don’t come from above. Only love comes from above. Negative thoughts are used to separate and divide.

This is one that I am probably going to have come back to. Far too often I let negative, judgmental and fear-filled thoughts seep into my brain. I need to remember to drive them out.

Leave a Reply

