Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Crank That

on June 2, 2008

Yes, I know. I am the whitest girl alive. (though right now I’m various shades of white and red and tannish, thanks to the zoo, field day and other random outdoor activities).

But the title of this post doesn’t refer to Soulja Boy. It refers to my car. My lovely, lovely Nissan Altima died on me this weekend. Thankfully it had the decency to not inconvience me too much. Friday night I got home from work and 30 minutes later Joe stopped by to ride with me to the baseball game. But my car wouldn’t start, so we jumped in the Exploder and headed to the ballpark. When we came back, we got ready to jump it, but it started just fine, so I went to bed and decided I would just take it in on Monday to see what was going on.  Saturday I went to a friend’s graduation party and as I tried to leave, it wouldn’t start. Luckily some of my friends were still there and took me to the apartment so my mom could come get me. Sunday Dad and I went back to the car and got it started and drove it straight to my uncle’s shop so he could look at it first thing Monday morning.

We found out today that it is a problem with the crank position sensor. This happens to be a recall for Nissan Altimas, but the only thing the recall covers is resetting the ECM, not replacing the sensor. For that, they charge you (thank you stupid car industry for deciding that even when you make a horrible piece and it’s YOUR FAULT, you won’t cover it unless people have died and there are lawsuits.) Due to the combination of the dealer’s ridiculous overcharging and the fact that they wouldn’t return our phone calls – they certainly managed to call us back when we were buying this car – we’re having my uncle replace the sensor. Hopefully, that will fix everything.

Throughout the frustrations and difficulties, there are some definite positives. One, my uncle tends to give me the family discount, so it will probably be the cheapest fix I could possibly get. Two, according to some stuff I read online, my car could have shut down while I was driving. That’s just plain scary. Three, while the ordeal has caused some inconvenience, it certainly could have been worse timing. And four, my parents live nearby and are able to share a care when needed, providing me with another car instead of having to pay for a rental. Indeed, I am blessed.

Leave a Reply

