Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Whammy!

on June 24, 2008

One of my favorite people in the world married the one woman in the world who would take him this weekend. 🙂 I was fortunate enough to be able to spend the weekend in the city I love with people I love all for the sake of Jared and Katie’s love.

Friday was all around awesome. The morning started with Fresh Fruit Friday, a new thing my company is apparently trying to encourage us all to be healthier. Leave it to my team to ruin that by having our monthly admin lunch at Macaroni Grill. Penne Rustica is AMAZING. Then we came back to the office and had ice cream floats to celebrate Ice Cream Soda Day. It was my week for early out, so I left at 3 and headed to pick up Angela. She hopped in the car and we headed to Lubbock. Friday was the longest day of the year and since we were heading west, it was even longer. The sun didn’t go down until about 8:45, 30 minutes before we rolled into town. We got to Trish’s house and then went to the mecca, Rosa’s, with Christine and Mike. Then we headed to CTK for some prayer and ended the night watching The Office (well, angela and i fell asleep. we’re so old).

Saturday I visited my grandmother and then started getting ready. Joseph came over and we headed to the wedding. The wedding was beautiful, Jared and Katie were so happy – and it was good to know that Jared is still Jared, even on his wedding day. The music was great too. And no, I am not biased in the least. 🙂

The reception was a lot of fun and the food was awesome. Afterwards, my J boys and I went to Fox and Hound and were joined throughout the night by various friends. In an homage to a favorite tv show and a favorite friend, I convinced the boys to drink appletinis with me. Apparently all it takes is offering to buy the drinks for them. Who knew?

Sunday started early. Real early. Joe and I loaded the car and headed to the metroplex. He remains one of my favorite road trip people and not just because he drives everytime I don’t want to. We got home in just enough time to get ready for mass.

It was a whirlwind weekend full of food, fun, laughter, friends, and the joy of seeing two friends join their lives together. I can’t wait for the newlyweds to move to the metroplex.

I didn’t take many pictures, but here’s what I got. I’m wearing my stupid glasses because my contacts decided they hate me.

aw fiddlesticks

The get-away

My eyes are closed. 😦

Me with J-boys

Joe at F&H

Boys with their appletinis

for Br. Anthony

Sunday night at El Guapo

Leave a Reply

