Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Keeping Track of Praises

on July 15, 2008

Let’s face it, the working world is not the same as it used to be. One of the big things that has changed is company loyalty. While my grandfather worked for Exxon for more than 30 years, these days, people change jobs frequently and everyone is always on the lookout for their next job.

This means it is more important than ever to keep resumes updated and always be aware of your work-related accomplishments. At my last job, I had to write up my monthly accomplishments at the end of every month. It had a summary of tasks as well as details of special projects and assignments I had done. I never quite appreciated it though until I started applying for a new job. At my fingertips was all the data I would need to prove that I had done a phenomenal job.

I’ve been in my new job for just about 60 days now and I have already started keeping track of accomplishments, tasks, and recognition. Here’s how I organize them:

Special Projects: I have an Excel spreadsheet for special projects where I record the date range I worked on it and my specific responsibilities.

1:1 Meetings: An Excel spreadsheet that records comments and conversations at my 1:1 meetings with my boss. A log of compliments and concerns, mainly.

Recognition: this actually has three forms. I have a folder in My Documents called “Recognition” where I save emails I receive giving me praise or announcing an achievement (top producer, etc). I have an Excel spreadsheet where I keep track of awards, and I have a physical file folder where I write down when someone give me verbal praise. Not only does all of this help track my success, but on days when I feel like I can’t do much right, it’s nice to have evidence to the contrary.

Leave a Reply

