Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Fruits of the Spirit: Peace

on August 14, 2008

I’ll admit it. Before Mon/Tues, I thought this week’s discussion on peace would be light. I thought I’d have to fill the time because honestly, how long could we talk about peace? There’s almost never any controversy over that (it would be ironic if there was, wouldn’t it?)

Then I started studying up on it. Boy was I wrong.

Here’s what we talked about:

External vs. Internal Peace

Peace comes from God

  • Psalm 29:11
  • John 14:27
  • 2 Thessalonians 3:16

Peace is spiritual; it is not the absence of conflict, but the presence of God

  • Romans 8:6
  • John 16:33

Therefore, we must trust in God for peace

  • Isaiah 26:3
  • Luke 7:50
  • Romans 5:1

When we are in obedience to God, there is peace

Peace is a glimpse of heaven

  • CCC 1832
  • Romans 14:17-19
  • 1 Corinthians 14:33a
  • Matthew 5:9

Living in Peace

  • Philippians 4:6-7
  • Psalm 119:165

Peace in trials

  • John 16:33
  • Isaiah 54:10

The girls of course were awesome and had great comments about finding peace in adoration, confession, etc. There was also a food analogy (of course), but I can’t for the life of me remember it. I’ll check with some of the girls.

We kicked off the night with the “get to know me” cards and a major game of card ninja with a poison dart twist. And thanks to Teen ACTS, we had 40 kids!

Icing on the cake for the night was Applebee’s with Kate and Char afterwards. A wonderful night. A peaceful night. I can’t wait for next year.

Leave a Reply

