Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

What’s On Your Nightstand?

on September 23, 2008

One of my new favorite blogs is 5 Minutes for Books. Every 4th Tuesday, they ask readers, “what’s on your nightstand?” While it is tons of fun to read all the different answers that come through, it’s also dangerous because it adds a few books to my list of reading material!

This month I decided to participate. My list is pretty lengthy, but that’s because I went to Half Price Books not that long ago. So we’ll call this the HPB edition.

And now, in no particular order (except the first one):

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon. I had heard about this book numerous times. It seems that almost every blog on books that I read has a mention of it. The name sticks with you too. So when I saw a few copies at HPB, I picked one up. The basic premise intrigues me. I used to babysit a severely autistic child, and I know more than a few people who register on the spectrum, so I can relate to this character. I’ve barely started, but so far so good.

Flabbergasted by Ray Blackston. I’ll admit it, I selected this book based off of the short authors summary it gave on the back: “Armed with the knowledge that his second grade teacher always liked his stories and poems, Ray Blackston walked away from the corporate cubicle, bought a laptop, said a prayer, and began typing the first words of Flabbergasted. He does not recommend this method for the faint of heart.” That is awesome.

Boo by Rene Gutteridge. I had already read a book by Gutteridge and it was alright. I thought i would give this one a go. Plus, there’s a character named Ainsley, and that makes me think of Emily Proctor on West Wing.

The Human Stain by Philip Roth. I’ve never seen the movie, but I know enough of the story line to find this on intriguing. I’m eager to start this one.

The next two are spiritual resource books, if you will:

Praying with Saint Paul: Daily Reflections on the Letters of the Apostle Paul edited by Fr. Peter John Cameron, O.P. Pope Benedict XVI has declared June 2008 – June 2009 the Pauline Year, a time when we are supposed to reflect on Saint Paul, so when Magnificat offered this book for a pretty cheap price, I thought it would be a good way to spend the Pauline year.

BeAttitudes for Women: Wisdom from Heaven for Life on Earth by Dorothy Kelley Patterson. I am reviewing this book to see if it could be adapted for our girls group once we finish with the fruits of the spirit.

And there you have it. God-willing, none of these will show up next month and I will have a new crop of books on my nightstand.

2 responses to “What’s On Your Nightstand?

  1. Monica says:

    I’ve read Flabbergasted. It was a cute, fun read.

    This is my first time here, nice to meet you. 🙂

  2. mbehnke says:

    Ohhhh! I like this game! 🙂 Unfortunately, with moving and a baby, only empty bottles and boxes sit on my nightstand, but if I had the choice Brisinger would sit there, as well. Call me childish or call me awesome, I love those books! There are also a few more that I want to get, so I think a trip to HPB is in order very soon!

Leave a Reply

