Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Belated Thanks

on November 30, 2008

Because I was in Lubbock, I didn’t get the chance to have fun with Amanda‘s Thanksgiving blog. I thoroughly enjoyed it, so I will play along now. Here are her rules:

Thus, I must choose a very specific person/place/thing and list a specific reason for my gratitude. Also, the person/place/thing must be within my range of sight while I blog, and I cannot get up from where I am currently sitting and carry the laptop to another room to find something more interesting.

For reference, I am sitting on my bed in my apartment.

1. Let’s start with the obvious. I am thankful to have a roof over my head, running water that switches from cold to hot whenever I want, lights that turn on and off, and heat and a/c. As I was updating our bill board this morning I was wincing at the numbers, but then I remembered that some people don’t have all of this. I’m grateful I can afford to have it.

2. Lifeteen kids (the affirmation paper with their words on it is on my wall). They are pure joy and make me smile every day. Watching them become young adults with formed minds and caring spirits is amazing.

3. Friends. Right in front of me are several pictures reminding me daily that I truly know some of the greatest people on the planet, and they seem to like me as well.

4. Bookstores and Libraries. Reading engages me like nothing else. Sometimes I can only read on the weekends because I won’t sleep until I’ve finished a book.

5. Diet Dr Pepper. Do I even have to say?

Leave a Reply

