Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Emptiness

on December 16, 2008

I was reminded tonight that I haven’t updated this in awhile. Very true. And as I brought the wordpress page up on my browser I thought, “What do I want to write about?” Pause. “Nothing.” Not that nothing is going on, just that there wasn’t anything I wanted to share.

At first I thought that it was writer’s block or something, and then I remembered a phrase that came up this weekend several times: filling your life with emptiness will never fill you up. What does that mean in regards to this? It means I’ve been slacking off on my prayer life, so while the things that I have been doing are good, they haven’t filled me with anything. Which is why I have nothing to share. Nothing has been revealed to me or revealed within me because I haven’t been paying attention to that. I haven’t been balancing my fun and my life with my spiritual disciplines.

Thankfully, we can always start again. God isn’t the God of second chances, He’s the God of unlimited chances. No matter how many times I fall down, I can always be picked up.

In other news, in some years past I have followed the example of Jo March and my dear friend Amanda and made birthday resolutions. But this year I may wait just a little bit longer. My birthday somewhat snuck up on me, and I’m technically not done celebrating it. We’ll see what comes.

One response to “Emptiness

  1. Amanda says:

    And He’s always incredibly happy to see us when we do walk back Home and say, “Hey, Dad. I’ve missed you. Can we talk for awhile? ‘Cause I’ve got a lot to say and I’m sure You’ve got plenty for me to hear.”

    Looking forward to reading the birthday resolutions when they’re ready. 🙂

Leave a Reply

