Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Hey Jealousy

on December 30, 2008

Random writing prompt:

“When do you first remember feeling some type of jealousy?  Write about the experience.”

Oh jealousy. I battle you more than I care to admit. I don’t know that I remember the first time I felt that ugliness. But I know how it feels now. I feel scared. Fear drives it more than anything else. I tend not to be jealous of material things. My main jealousy is when I fear that someone who is close to me is forming other bonds. Logic tells me that this is natural and healthy, and heck, I do it to. But fear tells me that this will pull that person away from me – that I don’t have what it takes to keep someone close to me. And when fear wins, it takes every ounce of strength to try and suppress it. I’m not always successful and I start to become irrational. And clingy. And needy. Attractive qualities, I know. The crazy thing is that time after time I get proved wrong, yet it doesn’t seem to affect it that much.

Which wolf will win?  The one that I feed.

One response to “Hey Jealousy

  1. sarahkate81 says:

    I know this feeling well, my friend. Problem is, I don’t always get proved wrong. 😦

    Anyway, know you aren’t alone in fighting the fear!

Leave a Reply

