Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Today I Make My Resolution

on January 1, 2009

Do you remember the band the O.C. Supertones? What a great band. I met them one time when they played in Lubbock at the hockey game. They wrote their set list on a torn off pizza box lid. We (the Rock Band) were so impressed that when we played at the hockey game, we wrote our set list on a torn off pizza box lid.

Back to business. They have a song called Resolution. Of course it popped into my head. But I’m going to use it to help me write my resolutions.

I’ve meant to do this for some time
I’ve gotta get it right this time

Truer words have not been spoken! I was supposed to do birthday resolutions, but I procrastinated. I wanted these to be good. However, a few days ago I realized something: I am terrible at making resolutions! Well, really just long term ones. So this year I am going to focus on weekly resolutions. This may sound like a cop-out, but it’s not. I really do need to break my resolutions down into smaller chunks, so I will focus on just a few things each week. Some of them may only last the one week, but hopefully a lot of them will overflow and become habits. They might change each week, and they might not. We’ll see. If I’m real good, I’ll post them.

This time my God I will be Yours,
All my heart, my soul, and mind

One of the resolutions I plan on making is spending more time in prayer. Sounds simple, but really, this might be one of the toughest. Daily masses and adoration will fall under this as well.

Been so long since I truly smiled
But You touched my heart today
Reached through my mind of mud and mire
Consumed the idols in Your way

Another one that will pop up is remembering to reflect on the joys and the good things. One of our teens took a myspace survey not that long ago and she was supposed to complete the sentnence: “When I am overjoyed, I find:” She wrote: “Holly, and I tell her!” She was refering to my lesson on Joy, but she has an excellent point. When good things happen, I need to share that. Even if it is small joys. Scratch that. Especially if it is small joys.

So I am brand new Today, I make my resolution

What are your resolutions?

Leave a Reply

