Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

I Gotta Wear Shades…

on January 14, 2009

From the Random Writing Prompt files…

“Did you happen to have sunglasses handy?  Write about a time when the light really hurt your eyes.”

Boy, this really hit home. Sophomore year of high school, I woke up one morning and it hurt to see. I don’t know how else to describe it. I would try to look at something and my eye hurt. Light was the worst, and fake light (lightbulbs, florescent, etc.) hurt even more. Finally, my mom took me to the eye doctor (me covering my eye the whole drive). Turned out I had scratched my cornea. Awesome. The doctor put grossness stuff in my eye and apparently when he turned out the lights, it glowed, and that’s how he knew. that would have been cool, except I couldn’t see it. I had to wear a bandage over my eye and I had to wear ridiculous looking red frame glasses (i can’t remember why i couldn’t just wear my glasses). So, for about three days, I got pirate comments…even better.

Glad that’s over.

3 responses to “I Gotta Wear Shades…

  1. Amanda says:

    Oh, I so remember this. Isn’t having something weird happen to your body during high school awful? The only thing worse would have been for it to have happened in middle school…

  2. hollisonjourney says:

    yeah, but do you remember the glasses I wore before contacts? *shudder* I think they were worse than the red ones.

  3. Amanda says:

    Oh, but so were mine, sweet friend. I don’t think truly attractive glasses existed prior to the year 2000.

Leave a Reply

