Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

April Challenge

on April 4, 2009

The March Challenge was a failure. I do think, however, that I am drinking less soda, so I guess that is a positive.

April’s Challenge is inspired by a website that I like called Unclutterer. I decided that for April, I would “de-clutter” something every day. Not just throwing away trash, but actually going through different things and removing items that I do not need or have used in a long time. Also, I won’t just throw things away – if I am able to donate or sell it to a re-sale place, then I will.

Since this is a more visual challenge, I will try to take some pictures and post my progress. No pictures today though!

April 1: Hair products.
I have way too many bottles of shampoo, conditioner, styling products, etc. I buy them either because I forget them when I go on a trip or because it is a new product that I want to try. I keep them under the delusion that if I run out of my favorite stuff, I can use that as backup. In reality, I tend to buy the replacement stuff before I run out.

April 2: Books.
I enjoy my books, but I have more than a few that I have read and won’t read or reference again. So I rounded up about 15 of them and will be taking them to Half Price Books soon.

April 3: DVDs.
Again, I own several DVDs that I simply don’t really watch anymore. So I pulled them from the shelf, wiped the dust off and added them to the HPB pile.

One response to “April Challenge

  1. Amanda says:

    This is something I really, really need to do. I sorted through L’s toys after her birthday and have them separated…I just don’t have the storage boxes to put them in yet. For obvious reasons, I can’t stomach donating the toys until after Kid2010 plays with them. I also can’t stomach the thought of getting L anymore toys until Kid2010 comes along…

    I, too, have a box of books to take to HPB, and I should look through our DVD collection, too. If I haven’t watched the movie in a few years, then what’s the point of still having it?

Leave a Reply

