Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Suzy Lee

on April 29, 2009

I never, ever do this.

There was nothing extraordinary about last night – at least nothing that I could tell. I left work at 4 and drove to Denton. Talked with Michele and Joe, and then went over to Holy Family Thrift Store for work night. We had a lot of fun sorting clothes and learning more about Loreto House. Afterwards, Carrie and I went to Joe’s and we prayed a rosary together. I headed home, feeling good about the service we had done that evening. I didn’t realize that I wasn’t done.

I stopped at Kroger on my way home to pick up a few items: cereal, bananas, and some lunch items for the rest of the week. Recently I’ve been trying to use more cash and less card, so I was thrilled that my total was 15.80 and I had a ten, five ones, and some change. I used it, leaving a myriad of coins in my wallet and walked to my car. It was almost 11 and I was hurrying so I could go home, hop in the shower and go to sleep. As I finished loading my groceries in to my car, I heard a woman say “Miss, can you help me?” It was coming from a tan car on the other side of my car. I walked slowly over to it, trying to remember if it had been there a minute ago. “You can come close,” the woman said from the driver’s seat. “I know it’s risky, but I’m not getting out of the car.” I got to the window and asked what I could do for her.

She began telling me about how she has been unemployed for two months. She needed money to cover some expenses and her unemployment check wasn’t due until Friday. She was just trying to make it. Her voice was soft and I lost some of the words, but she seemed so genuine. Internally, I was kicking myself. I had just spent all of my cash. I couldn’t even give her 5 bucks. I divide my paycheck into three accounts at my bank: Spend, Save and Give and I knew I had money in my Give account. But I couldn’t do anything about it. When she paused in her story, I told her that I had just spent all of my money inside, unless she wanted the change I had. She nodded tearfully and I gave her about a dollars worth of change. She thanked me profusely.

And then she continued to talk. Yes, it was getting late and I had things to do, but I could tell she hadn’t had someone listen to her in awhile. So I did. I heard about her brother, who was always the one in great shape but had been on site when his houses exploded from a gas leak and the blast had injured him and singed off his hair and given him severe burns. I heard how last year, she attended 22 funerals for family members and friends. 22. “Can you imagine? That’s why I listen to God’s music and read His Word,” she said motioning to the radio. “It’s the only thing that pulls me through it.”

When she recanted her layoff, the tears filles her eyes again. She once again thanked me for my change and reminded me that though it may not be much to me, it was great to her. “You are blessed for this,” she said. “I asked the Lord for help and He told me that whoever helps me will receive blessings. You are setting yourself up.” She apologized for crying and I told her not to worry, tears are the windows to the soul.

“Then my soul is completely exposed.”

After talking for about 20 minutes, she thanked me again and said she was going to go to the gas station to put some more gas in her car so it wouldn’t run out, but she wasn’t leaving until she saw that I was in my car safely. I asked for her name and she said it was Suzy Lee. I told her I was praying for her and got in my car. She crossed the parking lot and pulled into the gas station as I turned on the road and drove home.

2 responses to “Suzy Lee

  1. Jared says:

    Good job Holly!

  2. Amanda says:

    What a blessing you two were to each other. c: I’ll keep her in my prayers, too.

Leave a Reply

