Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

37

on May 20, 2009

wedding

May 20, 1972 – Todays marks the 37th anniversary of the day my parents said “I do.”  And no, nothing is wrong with the picture: my dad really is wearing a blue tux.

I obviously was not there, but from what I know, the wedding was at Covenant Presbyterian in Lubbock (where my grandmother still attends church every Sunday). It was the day of a dust storm, and then it rained later, causing the West Texas phenomenon of raining mud. This detail is only important if you know that the father of my dad’s best friend was wearing a white tux. Yeah.

My dad recently said there were only three things he regretted about the wedding: his tux, the fact that they missed the killer afterparty (at the Koko Inn…yes it was there in 1972 and it was the happening place), and one more that I won’t say here (it has nothing to do with my mom).

Oh yeah, one more interesting thing about their wedding: it took place exactly one week after my mom’s younger sister had her wedding. And it was planned that way. My grandparents were living in Baton Rouge at the time and on May 13, Diane got married in Houston and on May 20, Barbara got married in Lubbock. My mom and aunt still can’t believe their parents agreed to that.

Pat's Surprise 60th 006

In case you were wondering, 37 must be the baklava anniversary, because my parents are in Greece right now.

Leave a Reply

