Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

The Wednesday Sisters

on August 9, 2009

I’m trying to read more, and I figured if I’m reading more, then I need to share. So I’ll try to do some book reviews after I finish books. Here’s my first one:

THE WEDNESDAY SISTERS by Meg Waite Clayton

book

I picked up this book at Target mainly because, well, I read the back and it said it was about women who form a writing group. I like that idea.

The book is set in the late 1960s in California and revolves around 5 women who live in the same neighborhood and go to the same park with their children. They meet and over time form a writing club, with each of them working on a novel or story of some sort. Through the years, they bond as friends and see each other through pregnancies, miscarriages, affairs, new jobs, health issues, and the ever-changing social world they are living in. Clayton does a good job of sprinkling historical moments throughout the book and gives appropriate reactions to the characters (I assume – I wasn’t alive in the 60s!). The women are funny, quirky, and supportive of each other.

I liked several things about this book. One is that not everything goes smoothly. I don’t like friendship books where the friends never fight. It’s not realistic. Also, Clayton does a good job of showing hurt and pain that they go through, as well as real thoughts. I also like reading about the writing the women do and what they go through in an attempt to get their stories published.

The book is pretty clean, just some older themes in it and a few adult situations in it.

2 responses to “The Wednesday Sisters

  1. kim's scrapbook says:

    sounds interesting
    i do like ‘women’s books’ that are real rather than all smoothed out and filled with unrealistic permanent happiness
    will keep an eye out for this one
    thanks

  2. nicole says:

    I love books! This one sounds interesting. I just got a bunch of gift cards for B&N, maybe I will check this one out. Keep the reviews coming!

Leave a Reply

