Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

on September 4, 2009

I read this book back in June, but I’ve referenced it twice in the past week. So I decided to review it.

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

boy_in_the_striped_pajamas

This book made me think a lot. I loved the literary device of using the young boys to tell about WWII. The story was touching and sad, with the appropriate amount of laughter mixed in. I thought John Boyne did a great job of capturing the innocence of Bruno and the tragedy of Shmuel.

A few days ago I thought of this book while discussing another topic with friends. Through our conversation, it occured to me that without prior knowledge of WWII and the holocaust, this book would not have made much sense. Or maybe it would have. I won’t know. How powerful is it that Boyne did not have to name a lot of key facts, and yet the reader “knows” what he is talking about.

The book is short and is a quick read (I read it on the plane from Dallas to Phoenix, and it didn’t take the whole flight). They have made a movie, but I haven’t seen it yet. It’s on my list.

One response to “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

  1. nicole says:

    I haven’t read the book, but the movie is very well done. Gut-wrenching of course, but very good.

Leave a Reply

