Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Same Kind of Different As Me

on September 8, 2009

Same Kind of Different As Me by Ron Hall, Denver Moore and Lynn Vincent

217Y-fSMIxL._SL500_AA160_This book was recommended to me by several different people and I am glad I took them up on it. The book has two narrators: Ron Hall, a fairly well-to-do white man who is an art dealer in Fort Worth, Texas,  and Denver Moore, a poor black man from Louisiana, described as a “modern-day slave,” who winds up homeless in Fort Worth. The book takes you through their lives and how their worlds collided and eventually merged, due in large part to Ron’s wife, Debbie.

Being from the D/FW metroplex, I enjoyed reading a book that has landmarks I am familiar with. The homeless mission that Ron and Debbie meet Denver in is one I have volunteered for. When Ron mentions a cafe on Throckmorton, I know what he is talking about. Not that you have to live in D/FW to appreciate the book, it’s just a nice touch. 🙂

I laughed and cried during this book, which is a pretty good sign. The display of faith shown by both men, but especially Denver, is inspiring.

I’m going to admit something though: I didn’t really like Ron. I realize he is a real person, so that is a bit harsh. Honestly, I think I would like him more if I knew him personally. Some of what he has to gloss over is what I was not a fan of, but I understand that those details weren’t the important part of the story so they had to be glossed over. I just felt like they make him seem a little unlikeable. I wish Debbie’s voice was in this book, I think that may have helped my view of Ron. It’s hard for me to describe it, because I did like the story and I think the book is good, I just wish I knew a little bit more about some of Ron’s situations. Confused? Yeah, me too.

Overall though, a very good book. I really enjoyed it and recommend it.

One response to “Same Kind of Different As Me

  1. nicole says:

    I bawled my eyes out for a good 40 page stretch of the book. So good.

Leave a Reply

