Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

7 Quick Takes: September 18

on September 18, 2009

I try not to post two things in one day, but it’s Friday, which means 7 Quick Takes! Be sure and scroll below for my book review of The Soul of Baseball

7_quick_takes

1. I have an itch. I blame Kandis. She posted about a DIY project and then had the nerve to link to a fabulous DIY Web site. I spent hours last night in front of the t.v. perusing the Web site and being inspired. The problem? I am no where near as creative as I think I am. When reading these posts and hearing the work so of these people did, I’m thinking “Yeah, right.” However, the itch to create hasn’t gone away. Maybe you’ll see a few DIY posts from me in the future.

2. I just used the word peruse, and it reminded me of the fact that the word peruse doesn’t mean what a lot of people think it means. You hear it a lot in terms of  “I went to Barnes and Noble and perused the fiction section.” Uh, that would be nice, but not likely. Vocab lesson of the day.

3. The church I work for is going to be buzzing today because this the annual Garage Sale weekend. Not helpful for my DIY itch. I’m going to avoid it as best as I can (I’m writing this before I go to work, but thanks to the magic of scheduled posting, it’s posting while I am at work).

4. This weekend is a family barbecue for a side of the family I haven’t seen in a long time (some I’ve never even met). Should be good and entertaining.

5. I had every intention of starting a new book this week. I guess it’s possible I still will before the week is over, but it’s not looking good. Maybe next week when my LT commitments are fewer.

6. Tomorrow is Talk Like A Pirate Day. It is also the Texas Tech/Texas game. Could this be an omen? Here’s hoping! Wreck ‘Em Tech!

7. In case you don’t remember why this game is a big deal, let’s look at what happened last year, shall we?

see more quick takes at conversion diary hosted by jen

5 responses to “7 Quick Takes: September 18

  1. K F says:

    Awww…I think this is the first time I’ve been directly linked on someone else’s blog…I feel special! Thanks!

    1) Roeshel is awesome! Not only does she come up with really cute ideas herself, but she spreads the wealth by linking to other DIY bloggers and showing their ideas. Fab-u-lous! But yeah, I’m totally with you. I’d like to think I’m all artistic and creative but most of my DIYs turn Disaster-It-Yourself. Hopefully, when I try the faux mercury glass pumpkins they’ll come out ok.

    2) I overuse persuse as well….and to be honest….I probably use it incorrectly 1/3 of the time! Oops!

    3) Yay for Church garage sales/auctions/festivals! We picked up some great finds at my parent’s church fiesta a few weekends ago….perhaps I should blog about that. And St. Brigid’s (the church we go too and Fr. Flux presides at) is having their Church Bazaar thing the first weekend in October. But I need to tighten the reigns myself as I just dropped some $$ at the big weeworld sale last weekend on stuff for Josh. Oy vey!

    4) Yay for familia time!

    5) I just finished Wicked not too long ago and decided that I need to go back and read all the Baum Oz books, then re-read Wicked, and then continue in Maguire’s Wicked series. But I’ve decided to take a little mental break so I’m working on “Confessions of a Shopaholic”. 😉

    6) LOVE! THIS! I made sure to forward it on to all the UT-Tshirt-Fan-Faithful at work. Hehehe.

    7) I was there! Saw it live! Eight months pregnant and all! Even woke up at the butt-crack-of-down to be there at Gameday! GO TECH! WRECK THE LONGHORNS!

    Do I win some award for longest post ever?

  2. K F says:

    Oh and p.s. I have been known to go for weeks at a time without posting on my blog…but I posted THREE times yesterday! Craziness!

  3. sudsyjoe says:

    Raid -ARRR! Pow-ARRRR!

  4. Teresa says:

    Love your blog…and glad to find it….Had a free night to blog hop. Hope you will stop by new Christmas blog …There is a great giveaway that I will draw for on Oct 1st and all you need to do to enter is comment. Hope you have a great weekend.
    http://grammyababychangeseverything.blogspot.com
    http://teresa-grammygirlfriend.blogspot.com/

  5. hollisonjourney says:

    Kandis – Yep, you just might win an award for longest comment! But I love it! Keep on keepin’ on!
    Joseph – You know it!
    Teresa – Thanks!

Leave a Reply

