Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

What’s on Your Nightstand? September 2009

on September 22, 2009

Nightstand5 Minutes for Books always has the best things to participate in. One of my favorites is the monthly “What’s on your nightstand?”

First, let’s look back at last month and see if I made progress:

The Soul of Baseball: A Road Trip Through Buck O’Neil’s America by Joe Posnanski – Finished!
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society
by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows – Finished!
Rooftops of Tehran
by Mahbod Seraji – Currently Reading

I also added Same Kind of Different As Me, recommended by Nicole and Athena.

This month:

Rooftops of Tehran by Mahbod Seraji – see above. I’m about halfway through.

Rebecca by Dauphne DeMaurier – Somehow I made it through 16 years of school without reading this book. I thought I’d give it a try

Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold – I’ve seen this book on people’s lists and in people’s hands.

6 responses to “What’s on Your Nightstand? September 2009

  1. Oh, Lovely Bones was so haunting and difficult to read, but beautiful at the same time, if that makes any sense at all!

    Have a wonderful month of reading!

  2. Ooh–I assume you are participating in Rooftops bookclub. I’ll be posting some questions on 5 Minutes for Books within the next week to get you thinking.

    I hope that you are liking it. . . .

  3. Carrie says:

    Hey! Glad you are picking up on Rebecca. I bet you’ll love it!

  4. nicole says:

    Rebecca is interesting. I remember reading it in high school.

    The Lovely Bones is very good.

  5. Amanda says:

    Let me know how Rebecca is. It’s on my reading list (for when I actually get to read something other than school books again someday…).

  6. Lisa says:

    Good list! I LOVE Guernsey & Rebecca. I’ll have to look at Rooftops….

Leave a Reply

