Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Julie and Julia

on September 26, 2009

Julie and Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously by Julie Powell

julie and julia Just a quick note, this was not the version I read. I read the re-release – the one where the book cover looks like the movie poster. Not that it matters.

Ok, so a couple of things you need to know before I review this book:

1) I read the book after I saw the movie.

2) Interest in the movie led me to some Web sites before I read the book. I learned infor about Julie Powell that was not in the book (but is now in her second book).

Ok, now that you know the background info, here we go: I didn’t like it.

There. I said it.

I really enjoyed the movie. Amy Adams was enjoyable as always and Meryl Streep is fantastic in almost everything I see her in (excluding wacky Kevin Bacon movies). I laughed a lot and it was an uplifiting story.

The book depressed me. It’s amazing how close the movie followed the book, yet managed to be 10x more optimistic and cheery than the book. Where the movie showed Julie’s struggles and her ability to overcome, the book just seemed to whine. There is so much complaining and whining and nervous break-downs, I could barely stand it. The curse words she uses (frequently) in the book were grating too. I get it, you’re frustrated and upset. But really? Even if that is how you talk in real life, it seemed like overkill in print.

The other thing that rubbed me the wrong way about this book was the knowledge that Julie Powell cheated on her husband during this time. This is mainly annoying to me every time she mentions how wonderful her husband is or how patient he was during her project. I know the book doesn’t tell the whole story of their relationship and maybe he was horrible and Julie just decided not to tell those times. Not that it excuses her behavior. It was hard to read her glowing compliments of her husband knowing all of that.

I usually enjoy books more than the movies, but this time, it’s the opposite. I don’t know what I would have thought of this book if I had not seen the movie or known more information before reading it. I’m pretty sure I still wouldn’t have liked the negative tone and the overuse of bad language. But who knows.

2 responses to “Julie and Julia

  1. nicole says:

    I read this book before knowing it was a movie. My thoughts were similar to yours, mostly. I enjoyed reading it, but I didn’t especially like her. I’ve read several other reviews of the book after the movie saying the same thing. I didn’t like it enough to want to see the movie.

  2. Amanda says:

    Wow. That’s really sad. I liked the movie, too. I will definitely skip the book.

Leave a Reply

