Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

7 Quick Takes: October 2

on October 2, 2009

7_quick_takes

1. How come it seems like every time I do this, it’s retreat weekend? Oh, because it’s October and we’ve already had two retreats. That’s why.

2. Speaking of retreat weekend, I get the privilege of driving the BIG van. Reasons it’s good: I didn’t have to clean out my car so that 4 teens could pile in with their stuff; I enjoy sitting way up there; it should be a fun drive with 6 teens. Reason’s it’s bad: blindspots the size of Texas; the fact that it doesn’t belong to me makes me slightly nervous.

3. I really enjoy the weather we’ve been having lately (minus the downpour that happened yesterday at the exact moment I was running errands.) Dear Texas, please stay like this.

4. Last year, my cousin Aileen got married the weekend of fall retreat. This year, my cousin Kevin is getting married the weekend of fall retreat. Interestingly enough, since Aileen was married on a Friday and Kevin will be married on Saturday, I think they will share an anniversary date.

5. Quote from WOW: Teen girl: “Can we have a 24-hour hotline?” Another teen girl: “We don’t need that. I just call Holly.” Different teen girl: “Holly, can I have your number?” yet another teen girl: “I’ll put it on the board!” I don’t mind, it’s just funny.

6. I’ve rediscovered my love for some things this week: 1) fish tacos (namely from Fuzzy’s), 2) clothes shopping (i usually hate it, but I had a good experience this week) and 3) Painting my nails. I know. I’m a girl.

7.  Ok. If Texas Tech can’t pull it together this weekend, I am going to cry. I love them and I will never be embarrassed or ashamed that I am a Red Raider, but seriously. Calm down. I realize you guys always take a few games to settle down, but normally you still pull the W. Wreck UNM!

As always, if you want to read more, hop on over and visit the fabulous Jen at conversiondiary.com

5 responses to “7 Quick Takes: October 2

  1. Rebecca says:

    Visiting from Conversion Diary!

    Driving vehicles that aren’t mine always freaks me out (no matter how big or small!).

    Are fish tacos really that good? I just can’t bring myself to try one!

    Good luck to your Red Raiders – I can relate to your passion for your team (while mine is for the WVU Mountaineers, I get it!).

  2. nicole says:

    I have never been to Fuzzy’s! Travis goes like once a week, you’d think he’d invite me once in a while.

    As a Mean Green fan, I can relate to the frustrations of your team letting you down. But only a little bit, since Tech wins games. 🙂

    Retreat will be fabulous, what a gift you are to those kids.

    Did you use any of my suggestions in your playlist?

  3. angie says:

    I hope you enjoy your weekend

  4. frflux says:

    GO TECH! Now I really want fish tacos…

  5. hollisonjourney says:

    Nicole, I can’t believe Travis has never taken you to Fuzzy’s! If you ever want to go and need someone to go with, let me know.

    The retreat was fabulous and yes, I did use some of your songs. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

