Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

150

on October 8, 2009

This is my 150th post. I didn’t notice when I hit #100, so I thought I would celebrate #150. Originally, my plan was to share 150 things you probably didn’t know about me. However, that takes a lot of time – time that I do not have. So, I decided to give a 10% effort and share 15 things you probably didn’t know about me.

150 15 Things You Didn’t (maybe you did) Know About Me

  1. I’m not afraid of insects. Except crickets. They creep me out.
  2. In terms of cooking, I am at my best when it comes to desserts. I don’t know why.
  3. I’ve given up on reading “classics” and mainly browse the YA or fiction section in book stores. Give me light and fluffy any day.
  4. My sister and I used to check out The Sound of Music from the public library (2 VHS tapes!) and watch it constantly. Our parents would actually make us take time off from the movie and place limits on how often we could rent it.
  5. When I was 11, my parents argued about letting me see Jurassic Park(a PG-13 movie). My dad won and I got to go see it. I had nightmares for months but couldn’t tell anyone because I knew that if they found out, I’d never get to see an older movie again.
  6. Another thing my sister and I used to do (before we could drive and had jobs and such) was our daily summer routine: Wake up at 8:55am. Watch Star Trek: The Next Generation from 9:00am – 11:00am. Eat lunch. Watch a movie (Sara would pick the movie without me knowing, I would have to guess what it was before the previews ended), Watch another movie. Hurriedly do our chores between 4:00pm and 5:00pm before Mom got home.  EVERY. DAY.
  7. In first grade, I read all of the readers in the classroom by February and had to start reading the 2nd grade readers.
  8. I have a freckle on my forehead hair line and my older cousin Jennifer has one in the exact same spot.
  9. I prefer vanilla ice cream over chocolate ice cream.
  10. I don’t like pepperonis on my pizza
  11. Despite these last two admissions, I really am not a picky eater.
  12. Contrary to the previous statement, I am extremely picky about cereal. Here are just some of the cereals I do not like: Honeycombs, Fruit Loops, Applejacks, Fruity Pebbles, Captain Crunch, and Trix.
  13. This one won’t be about food: We learned that I needed glasses in the 3rd grade at a Texas Tech football game in the Astrodome.
  14. I estimate that in my 27 (almost 28) years of living I have been on 48 retreats either as a retreater or a staffer, or a chaperone. I’ve got another one this weekend.
  15. Continuing the statistics theme, I have been to 11 states (including my home state) and 5 countries (including my home country): Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Indiana, Louisiana, Maryland, Missouri, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Texas, Austria, Canada, England, Germany, U.S.A. I did not include states I have only driven through or landed in on my way somewhere else.
One response to “150

  1. nicole says:

    Some classics are worth your time, but since no one will really care if you have read them or not, you should definitely read what you like. I do like pepperoni, it is my favorite pizza topping. Funny about your daily routine. I think all kids did chores at the last minute, I know I did. Happy 150!

Leave a Reply

