Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Quick Takes: October 9, 2009

on October 9, 2009

7_quick_takes

Jen is taking a week off, but I am still going to do 7 Quick Takes.

1. I don’t know about y’all, but the Sonic‘s in these here stomping grounds are serving up a Chicken Strip Dinner and Drink combo for $3.99 right now and bless my heart, I have gone hog wild on this here deal more than once since October 1. Call me crazy, but I feel dadgum Southern when I am eating up fried chicken strips, an onion ring, french fries, and Texas toast, with a side of cream gravy for dipping and a Dr Pepper. Mercy!

and now back to my normal semi-Southern vocabulary:

2. Tomorrow I am attending a day retreat for young adults called Strength for the Journey. I am excited to go and more excited to go with my friends Abby, Becki, Megan, Cat and Gretchen. We had to take a preliminary quiz and determine our top strengths; this will then be tailored to us on the retreat. My top 5 were Achiever, Harmony, Developer, Individualization, and Learner. I’m interested to see what happens tomorrow! Those of you who know me, what do you think of my results?

3. Speaking of retreats, last week I mentioned our Fall LifeTeen Retreat. It went great! It was called Unstoppable and focused on the life of St. Paul. We had 26 teens and had such a fun time! Saturday night during free time the girls put on a dance party and let me tell you, you can’t help but smile when teenage girls are jumping around the room dancing and singing to Taylor Swift’s “You Belong With Me” and dcTalk’s “Jesus Freak.”

3. I got invited to my 10-year high school reunion next summer. Well, I got a “save the date.” Shesh. I feel old.

4. I am very heavily considering working on a family cookbook for my mom’s side of the family over the next 13 months (I figure a Christmas 2010 deadline is much more realistic than a Christmas 2009 deadline). Any advice? I already have ownership of all the recipes from my grandmother and my mom and I have pulled the “good ones.”

5. I just realized that I have a book read that I have not posted a review on! Whoops! Look next week for my review of The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold.

6. Our Life Night this week is being done by the Senior class. I’ve been working with them on it and they are such a joy. It’s hard for me to think of them as Seniors — they were little baby sophomores when I met them! Next year will be even harder as the Class of 2011 will be the first class I have seen all the way through their high school years. Don’t cry now!

7. I was going to write some gobbledygook here as filler cause I can’t think of much else, but the plumber is here at work and guess who gets to let him in?

2 responses to “Quick Takes: October 9, 2009

  1. Amanda says:

    I’d like a copy of the cookbook, please. 🙂

  2. […] time again for 7 Quick Takes. I don’t know if I will be as witty as I was last week, but here’s […]

Leave a Reply

