Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

No Soda November

on November 3, 2009

No-Soda-727300Ok, I’ve heard it all. All the bad stuff soda does for you. And I haven’t cared. (FYI, I am from Texas. We call all soda the nickname for Coca-Cola. All of it. Even though I hardly ever drink Coca-Cola products, it is still called that. However, to avoid confusion and hopefully avoid weird Google searches, I will call it soda.)

But lately, I’ve been working on a list of things that I want to do in 2010 (more on that later). And one of the items was to go a whole month and not drink any soda. As I looked over that requirement, I decided to give it a try early. Since November was next up, it seemed as good as any of time to do this.

Full disclosure, I forgot it was November on Sunday and had some soda. But since Monday, nothing. Since these are my rules, I deem this slip ok. 🙂

So what will I be drinking this month? Mostly what I will have is stuff I already drink, it will just replace the soda when I did drink that:

– Coffee (all doctored up)
– Milk (a favorite)
– Water (hardly a favorite. I need to have it flavored.)
– Peach tea (new favorite)

I’ve never been a fan of tea, but I do enjoy Peach tea. This is encouraging me to try others. We’ll see how that goes. The hardest time will probably be Wednesday/Sunday night’s when the team goes to Applebee’s and I usually order a Diet Pepsi. I have noticed that the Bee’s has Mango Iced Tea, so I’ll try that next time. Now I have to get the waitstaff accustomed to my new drink order. Yes, we go often enough that multiple waiters know my drink order. I think I’m up to 6 waiters knowing me. No, I am not ashamed. 🙂

Actually, that reminds me of a pretty funny story. Down in College Station, there is a chicken place (Laine’s? Layne’s? Someone help me!) that is popular. When Rudi and I went to visit Rachel and Marcel, we had lunch there with Marcel and he told us about a kid named Ben. Ben ate their all the time, and even set a record for number of times eating there in a month. He always ordered the same dinner and a Dr Pepper (cause he is brilliant!). For Lent, he decided to give up Dr Pepper. The staff at Laine’s/Layne’s/whatever posted a sign behind the counter that read:

“Ben has given up Dr Pepper for Lent. Please serve him water.”

Now that is talent.

 

P.S. I may not have gotten 100% of the details right on that. But I am close.

5 responses to “No Soda November

  1. Cheryl says:

    It’s probably the Dixie Chicken.

  2. hollisonjourney says:

    No, I know that one….

  3. nicole says:

    I have given up soda for Lent before. Very difficult. I’m constantly fighting the soda battle. I LOVE unsweet iced tea though, so that helps. Except for when we go to lame places that don’t brew tea and serve the crappy lemon-flavored Brisk Tea or something. Hate that. Good luck! And water is your friend.

  4. Amanda says:

    Stay strong, friend! I’m proud of you for even being willing to do this…

    I must confess that I tasted a DP for the first time yesterday in over a month, and it tasted…horrible to me… So, I’m wearing my DP James Avery charm every day now in a feeble attempt to make amends for my betrayal.

    Kid2010 had better be a boy. If Kid2010 is a girl and made me give up DP, then I’m just going to be furious. If Kid2010 is a boy, then it’s worth the betrayal, but not for another girl… 😉

  5. Marco L. says:

    Well i’m going a year with out candy or soda. I’m 12 i’m gone months wihout soda or candy

Leave a Reply

