Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

7 Quick Takes: November 6, 2009

on November 6, 2009

7_quick_takes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I didn’t do this last week because I got busy and forgot. But never fear, 7 Quick Takes is back this week!

1. This morning before work I got to go meet sweet Elisabeth Grace, the newborn baby of my friends Joseph and Melanie. Ellie is their second daughter and is just as precious as her big sister Molly. It was wonderful to sit and visit with Joseph and Melanie and to hold Ellie. What a great way to start the morning!

2. Tuesday nights are fast becoming a favorite of mine. A group of about 12 of us young adults are meeting every Tuesday to participate in our Diocesan-wide program, Why Catholic? (well, it’s not that our diocese created it, it’s just that everyone in our diocese is participating). We have dinner together and then our discussions. It’s wonderful to get to know these people better and we have lots of laughs and fun. Plus, we have some amazing food.

3. This week I had the opportunity to speak at two different RCIA classes and share my story. It was really nice to share and to also see that others related from my experience. Hard to believe it was only 4-5 years ago that all that was going on!

4. I’m on a podcast! Well, I will be on a podcast when it gets posted. My friends Brian, Abby and Kevin have a bi-weekly podcast (well, close to bi-weekly) called “What Would Jesus Podcast” that is about Catholic young adults in North Texas (really ANY Catholic young adult, they just happen to live in North Texas so that’s the reference point). Since Brian and Abby and I went to the Young Adult Retreat a month ago (that I mention here and here), we decided to do a podcast about it. Brian is editing it and hopefully it will go up soon. You can find their podcast on iTunes or at Brian’s site, ComicEarth.com I’ll update when it’s up there. It will be episode #6, but all of them are good. I’m actually referenced on the first episode because I was at Brian’s house when they were recording.

5. It’s happened again. I got the creative bug. We’ll see if my two new projects turn out like they are in my head. If so, I’ll share. If not, then oh well.

6. Tomorrow is my third class in School of Lay Ministry. It’s actually my second to attend because of Fall Retreat, but I heard the audio recordings of October’s class, so it’s like I was there. 🙂 Tomorrow is 6 hours of Theology. I am excited!

7. If you haven’t seen The Boyfriend Quiz that my high school girls came up with, you should. It’s hilarious.

(click on the picture above and visit Jen at ConversionDiary.com to read more 7 Quick Takes!)

2 responses to “7 Quick Takes: November 6, 2009

  1. Brian says:

    Whoo-hoo for blogs!!! 🙂

    I’ll see if I can’t get our podcast up and running this weekend! You rock Holly! 🙂

  2. Abby says:

    Aww…I didn’t know Joseph had his baby! So exciting. 🙂 And we need to bug Brian about getting the podcast up. Then we need to come up with another topic!

Leave a Reply

