Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

7 Quick Takes: November 13, 2009

on November 13, 2009

7_quick_takes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Are you superstitious about Friday the 13th? I am not. And so far today, nothing bad has happened. Knock on wood. (See, it’s funny ’cause….)

2. I got an e-mail this morning saying that my priest from college, Fr. Jim, was being named Monsignor! (If you don’t know, Monsignor is an honorary title given to priests by the Pope). Fr. Jim is a wonderful man and was the priest who heard my first confession, confirmed me and gave me my first Eucharist when I converted almost 5 years ago (!). He completely deserves this honor as he is a great leader of a thriving University parish. Congrats Fr. Jim!

3. My friend Carrie and I have found a place to live and are slowly starting to move in (as in, I have brought over one carload of things.) This is of course wonderful news, but is also a little sad because I have really enjoyed my current living situation and I am sad to leave it.

4. I have a “real” blog post in my head, I hope to be able to work on it this weekend.

5. Last night turned out way differently than I thought, and I thought I would share the story. Originally I was to have a meeting at 5 and then go to the local high school performance of Peter Pan (one of our teens is in it). I got to the school a little before 7 and saw that one of our other teens was an usher. He told me that the doors to the theater would open at 7. I stood in the hall and met up with some other church folks. A little after 7, I heard someone say they were having some technical difficulties. We continued to stand. (in the midst of this, there was a small medical emergency for someone in line that required the fire dept. to come out, but they are ok). At about 7:35 or so, the director came out and announced that the light board had “melted” and they only had two options: 1 – do the play with all lights up, meaning cutting a lot of special effects, or 2 – let everyone swap tickets for another performance/get their money back and they would add a performance. Since I can’t go any other time, I got my money back and then Wally and Charlene came over to visit. The night ended well, but it was bizarre.

6. It’s 9:01am and already today, two people have told me that I made them giggle. I like that word.

7. Weekend plans: Go to parent’s house tonight, Lauren’s wedding shower tomorrow (yay!), LT Coffee House Sat night, Mass and Life Night on Sunday, and hopefully finding some time on Sunday to move some more stuff in. What are you up to this weekend?

3 responses to “7 Quick Takes: November 13, 2009

  1. Chelsea says:

    #6… #1 made me giggle! 🙂

  2. Emily Curran says:

    #6- Well, you make ME giggle too! 🙂 See you tonight!

  3. Brian says:

    Hey Holly… I wasn’t able to get the podcast online this weekend. I’ll work on it tonight and get it online. 🙂

Leave a Reply

