Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Trinity

on December 4, 2009

In a recent Why Catholic? group discussion, I had an interesting thought. We were discussing the Trinity and the question posed to us was something like “describe the way you pray to God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit.” I’m fairly certain it was worded better.

But anyway, I was sitting in Brian’s living room thinking about it and vaguely listening to everyone. My first thought was a slight bit of Type A panic: “Oh no! I never pray to the Holy Spirit!”

Then I started thinking about the way I pray. When I pray out loud in front of people, I tend to start with something like “Dear Lord,” or “Dear God,” or “Hevenly Father,”. When I pray in my head or outloud by myself, I start with “Dear Jesus,”. The more I thought of it, the more I affirmed my thought – I pray to God outloud, but Jesus privately. I seem to reserve Jesus for my more personal, intimate prayers.

This still didn’t address the Holy Spirit issue. But, the more I thought about it, I realized the I recognize the Holy Spirit all the time through my friends and family and such. The Holy Spirit is the action. In my head, God is static and stationary, Jesus moves with me, and the Holy Spirit moves around and through me.

I don’t think I have ever analyzed the way I pray. It was an interesting thing.

Leave a Reply

