Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Weekend Update

on December 7, 2009

I didn’t do a Quick Takes this past Friday because life was busy. So, I thought I’d do some short updates on what’s been going on and what went on this weekend:

* Saturday was glorious! I got up and went to my monthly 6-hour class. I am the person in charge of setting up the room and until this month, I’ve had problems and stress every time. This time, however, no problems and no stress! This month we had 6 hours of scripture lecture by my new favorite teacher. Loved it!

* After that, I headed out to the retreat center in town and set up for XLT. This month we had XLT in the middle of a retreat that the other parish held and it was wonderful. Great songs, lots of singing teenagers. And we were in this small room with horrible wood paneling and a semi-bad air system. When the lights were lowered and the candles on the altar were the only thing we could see, I thought “This must be what it was like in the early Church…meeting in rooms with no decoration…just a table and candles.”

* The move is going ok. I’m really hoping to have all of my stuff in the apartment by this weekend. And since the only thing I have going on this weekend is a birthday party Saturday night, I hope to be unpacked and stuff by Sunday’s meeting at 3. Add in the fact that Verizon will be coming out Friday to set up the internet and we might actually be good to go!

* My car became quite the annoying thing this past week – and quite the money hole! Monday, I went and renewed my registration ($). Tuesday, I had a flat tire after work. Daniel came and put my spare on, and then at the house, we put more air in it. Wednesday I got my car inspected ($) but it failed because of a) the tire (whoops! forgot it can’t pass with a spare), plus another tire having low tread and b) an engine light. My mechanic reset the light and said that if I could drive 150 miles without it coming on, I’d be good. 40 miles later, it popped on. 😦 Now, I have to get either a sensor replaced ($) or a new catalyctic converter ($$).  Thursday morning I paid a ticket I had received ($). Thursday evening, 4 hours after my tire had been put back on after it held air for 24 hours, it went flat again. Daniel came out again and put on the spare.  Now, I have to go get two new tires ($$). Thank goodness for a budget. I just may pull this off.

* We did something very cool with our teens last night. But since I’m not sure who reads this and we haven’t delivered our final project, I will resist the urge to tell you all. But I will in the future for sure!

* Did you read the second reading yesterday? It is beautiful! I was Lector #2 and got to read it and I was so happy when I saw what it was! Here it is:

A Letter from Saint Paul to the Philippians (Phil 1:4-6, 8-11)

Brothers and sisters:
I pray always with joy in my every prayer for all of you,
because of your partnership for the gospel
from the first day until now.
I am confident of this,
that the one who began a good work in you
will continue to complete it
until the day of Christ Jesus.
God is my witness,
how I long for all of you with the affection of Christ Jesus.
And this is my prayer:
that your love may increase ever more and more
in knowledge and every kind of perception,
to discern what is of value,
so that you may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ,
filled with the fruit of righteousness
that comes through Jesus Christ
for the glory and praise of God.

Leave a Reply

