Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

New Directions

on January 4, 2010

Yes, the title of this post was inspired by Glee.

But really, it fits.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my blog recently and what I want to do with it. Most blogs have a function or a purpose. Recipe blogs, family story or family photo blogs, funny pictures, news updates about a certain theme, etc. I have none of that. I have random posts that sometimes have a theme. I have semi-regular weekly “themed” posts. I have ramblings and links and general updates on my life. But was there any way to centralize them?

At the same time, I had run across an idea that I liked a lot. Some blogs, I noticed, had a list of 101 things to do in 1,001 days (or something to that effect). The goals/activities were like small resolutions: some were about trying new things, setting personal goals, etc. I liked the thought, but instead of 101 and 1,001, I decided to make my list as long or short as I wanted it and to do it all within the new year. I began compiling my own list, borrowing from others on some and coming up with my own.

And then I realized what I could do. I would make my blog in 2010 focus on these goals/activities/resolutions. My posts would be about this list and the things I accomplish on it. For instance, I have a goal of making 10 new recipes (#15). I might have a post describing the recipe (with some pictures) and maybe a story about trying it. Or maybe it will be an account of the museum I went to (per #23).

The list will always be posted as a page on my site (Goals in 2010) and I will try to keep it updated with my progress. It’s fairly self-explanatory.

This doesn’t necessarily mean I won’t do 7 Quick Takes (though I’ll try to relate at least one item to the goals). You’ll still get random stories of my life, they will just be connected to each other.

I hope this year will be full of fun and adventure.

Oh, and if anyone wants to join in any of these adventures, let me know!

2 responses to “New Directions

  1. Nice Glee reference 🙂

  2. nicole says:

    Good luck! My blog has no purpose or direction, but I like it that way. 😉

Leave a Reply

