Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Restaurant Roundup

on March 15, 2010

Didn’t think I was going to this long between posts, but that’s what happens sometimes 🙂

I’ve been to several new restaurants in the last few weeks, so I thought I would share.

The Chestnut Tree Garden Tea Room- Denton, Texas

My mom came into town a few weeks ago for a church meeting and we were able to have lunch. We took advantage of my dad not being there and went to a very “girlie” place: The Chestnut Garden Tea Room. Definitely not something my father would enjoy, my mom and I really liked it. It’s a very cute and charming place and the lunch was good. I had a sandwich and fruit and soup and it was all good. They were very busy, but we had fairly fast service.

Mama Juanita’s – The Woodlands, Texas

I went and visited my aunt and cousin in Conroe, and within 20 minutes of arriving at my aunt’s house, we were sitting at Mama Juanita’s (the location in The Woodlands is actually closer to their house). The decor reminded me of Mercado Juarez and the food was awesome. We all had the shrimp enchiladas (I love Houston seafood!) and chips and queso and sopapillas. There was live music too: a guy playing guitar and singing. He played everything from Willie Nelson to the Battle of New Orleans.

Crabby Daddy – The Woodlands, Texas

The next day, before I headed over to Katy, my cousin and I had lunch at Crabby Daddy. Again, I simply love Houston seafood. I had a shrimp and catfish Po’ Boy. It is so easy to keep Meat-Free Fridays when you are in Houston. This place was really crowded and things took a little longer than they should have, but it was good, so all is forgiven 🙂

Hinze’s BBQ – Sealy, Texas

After setting up for the retreat, the team went down the road to Hinze’s BBQ to get some…catfish. Gotta love going to a BBQ place on a Meat-Free Friday! (although, according to the reviews on the website I linked, we got the better meal). It was pretty good catfish, but not memorable.

Los Cucos – Katy, Texas

After the retreat ended, the team went to Los Cucos for lunch. Again, I ordered shrimp chimichanga. (Have I mentioned that I like seafood? Especially the kind that comes from Houston?) The place was fun and festive and a great place to wind down from retreat.

2 responses to “Restaurant Roundup

  1. nicole says:

    I want your life, if it includes that much eating out. 😉 I don’t care for seafood. Fried catfish is about all I like.

  2. hollisonjourney says:

    Normally it doesn’t (well, outside the Core trips to the ‘Bee’s). But being out of town will do that to you. My wallet usually can’t stand to eat out this much, but I only paid for two of these meals, so that helps 🙂 (Family and friends took care of the rest)

Leave a Reply

