Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Quick Takes: April 5, 2010

on April 5, 2010

Um, sorry this is late. I meant to do it Friday, I really did. But I got distracted. So here we go:

1. What distracted me? Shopping! I got my paycheck on Wednesday and I was in desperate need of a few things at several different stores, plus I needed to find a dress for Confirmation. Took way longer than I thought and I finally arrived home around 3:30. But without a dress. So I ordered one online. I hope to high heavens it will do, cause I really don’t want to go through that again.

2. Friday night, Carrie and I finished watching our current NetFlix DVD of Bones (we just finished the first four episodes of season 4), and it was 7pm. Not really interested in the selection at our house, we decided to go to the movies. We saw How to Train Your Dragon – so good!! I really enjoyed it. We watched the 2D version, but if someone wanted to go see it in 3D, I would totally join. I am not usually a fan of the current kid movies, but I’ve seen three recently that I really liked: Up, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs and How To Train Your Dragon.

3. The food this weekend was delicious. Went for Easter, but we started out on Saturday night with a birthday celebration for my mom, since her birthday was Tuesday. Yummy fried seafood. Sunday’s Easter dinner was yummy too. And since my dad makes enough food for a small army, I got to take some leftovers home.

4. Joining us at the table this year was a friend from church whose husband was in the hospital. She came over for lunch and then went back to the hospital. She’s a great person and it was nice to visit with her.

5. My sister gave me an Easter gift this year that’s pretty. It’s from Hallmark and I tried to find a pic online, but no luck. It looks like a hardcover journal, but when you open it, it has a pad of paper on one side and then a small accordian folder on the other. Hello shopping list, coupons and receipts! The design is fun too. Colorful and spring-y!

6. Speaking of Spring, I’m loving spring colors these days! I used to be a red and blue girl, but more and more I ind myself choosing fuchsias, purples, and greens. I’ve heard of tastebuds changing, but I didn’t think that applied to colors!

7. Do you use Swagbucks? I started at the end of February, a little skeptical, but it seems pretty legit. All I do is search and earn and so far I’ve earned 2 Amazon gift cards. I figured this is a good way to keep my book buying tendency in check – make a wish list on amazon, and then when I have enough, buy something. If you want to get started, use this link: SwagBucks and I get referral points. Or something. No cost to join and while I think there are some hardcore ways to earn, I do the bare minimum and still have earned more than 1000 SBs in a little more than a month.

8. BONUS: This week is sports heaven. MLB opening day, Master’s Golf Tournament, NCAA Men’s Championship. Fantasy Baseball. Yes, it’s a good week, Charlie Brown.

And with that, time to go listen to the Rangers game. Perhaps next year, I’ll be there live? Only if Easter stays away!

2 responses to “Quick Takes: April 5, 2010

  1. nicole says:

    Thanks for joining Swagbucks. I think I get more bucks from your searching than I do from my own. 😉 I just don’t search much.

  2. hollisonjourney says:

    Haha! No problem-o. You can thank all of the searching I have to at my job. I rarely use it at home, but it’s gets a workout at the office!

Leave a Reply

