Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Ex-Love #2

on April 14, 2010

Reading.

First Date: Honestly, one of the earliest stories about me involves a book. At age 2, I memorized Cookie Monster and the Cookie Tree. My parents thought I could read until they handed me a new book. But it didn’t take long for me learn to read. And I had trouble stopping.

Courtship: I grew up loving to read. In first grade we had “readers”: books with several short stories. My first grade classroom had more than 100 of them. By February, I had read all of them. My teacher had to take me to the second grade classroom to get more. My family was frequent visitors to the public library. The maximum you could check out was 6 at a time, and I usually did get 6 at a time. Then, I read them all at the same time (mom never understood that one). We participated in Summer Reading Programs and Book It and all that stuff. My parents soon learned not to give me time outs in my room, because I would just pick up a book. As I got older, I read more and more.

The Breakup: Again, I blame college. Not a lot of time, paired with being required to read books meant I didn’t really pick up a book that I enjoyed. There were a few exceptions. I remember the night I started Timeline and then stayed up all night to finish it. Christmas Break and Summer Break usually meant reading, and of course, I read a lot during my conversion (non-fiction though, of course, as I was reading any book on Catholicism I could get my hands on). But really, I had pretty much stopped. After college, it just seemed hard to get back into the swing of things. Work and other activities filled my time.

The Reconciliation: I tried a reconciliation a few years ago, but I decided I should read the great literary classics. I made a crucial discovery. I don’t like the classics (in general). I wanted to read for fun, and I can’t read a classic without analyzing it and really having to think. I didn’t want that. Not that I wanted mind-numbing dribble, mind you, I just didn’t want to feel like school. And the classics made me think of school. So I started again with just your basic fiction. My aunt and uncle gave me some “already-reads” and they like crime novels, so I read some of those. Then life got busy again. Recently, I’ve realized how much I miss it. How much I miss a good story. My problem now is I don’t know what to read. Recently I started re-reading some books that I own and enjoy, just to rekindle my love. If anyone has any suggestions for books I should read, please leave them in the comments. I may even just have to suck it up and pay the $50 for a library card (since I don’t live in city limits, I have to pay for the library…even though my town doesn’t have a library. Don’t get me started.)

3 responses to “Ex-Love #2

  1. nicole says:

    I loved Timeline. The movie was lame though.

    The Help by Kathryn Stockett is really good. I’m reading the Sookie Stackhouse books (adult vampire fiction) for fun. They are quick reads, but sometimes a little too adult. 😉 I’ve read some Ted Dekker books too, he writes Christian fiction but it is not the annoying, saccharine Christian fiction style. The books I have read have been thrillers with a Christian element.

    Get the library card–totally worth it!

  2. hollisonjourney says:

    Thanks Nicole!

    I never even saw the movie. I heard bad things about it and loved the book so much, I didn’t want to ruin it.

    I’ll have to check out the books you mentioned. And yes, I’m going to buckle down and get the library card. (I’ll also be using Amazon cards I win from SwagBucks to buy books!) My bitterness only stems from growing up in a town that had a library and had an agreement with a larger neighboring town that we could get a library card there too at no cost to have access to more books. It would be nice if that system existed here.

  3. nicole says:

    That system used to exist. But the library opted out of receiving county funding a few years ago, rather than installing filters on the computers. Their argument was that the software blocked legitimate research sites in addition to things no one wants anyone looking at publicly. I have no idea if that is the case, but that is what went down. So now people have to pay to make up the lack of funds (although I’m pretty sure my fines alone would bridge some of the gap!).

Leave a Reply

