Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

5K

on April 23, 2010

I can’t believe I didn’t write about this earlier.

Goal #15 was to walk/run a 5K. Honestly, I didn’t think I would do it. I figured I would chicken out of it. But then my friend Angela asked me to enter the 5K at America’s Run. The race sounded cool – it started and ended at Cowboys Stadium (Jerry World to all you DFW folk). I signed up with about a month and a half before the race and figured I would have plenty of time to train and get ready. I did really well with training for about two weeks. Then I fell off the train. Or wagon. Or whatever.

I was feeling pretty uneasy about it, but thankfully, I spent the night with Angela and her family, who would all be participating. We all woke up early that Sunday morning and headed out to the Stadium. There was a half marathon as well (no, none of us were doing that!) our friend Veronica came out too and she just barely made it! Before I knew it, it was 8:00 a.m. and we were off! The 5K course took us around The Ballpark in Arlington and back to the Stadium. Our finish line was that beautiful blue star on the field. So cool! After we all finished, we got our medal and towel, grabbed some snacks and sat down for a little bit. Troy Aikman was running the half marathon and we got to see him cross the finish line too. Then we left.

We were all pretty energetic when we left, but after taking showers and sitting down in comfortable chairs, tiredness set in. I grabbed a nap before lunch and then headed out to Denton for church and LifeNight. It was a great experience. Wanna know the crazy part?

I’m going to do another one at the end of May.

3 responses to “5K

  1. nicole says:

    Good for you! Are you doing the Run for Life?

  2. hollisonjourney says:

    Yes! I think I am. You? I mean, you did a retreat three weeks before the BTS’s birth, I’m sure you can do a 5K three weeks after 🙂

  3. nicole says:

    Not me, but maybe Travis. I don’t get clearance to exercise until 6 weeks. But I could totally do it. 😉

Leave a Reply

