Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Read Anything Good Lately?

on July 13, 2010

I’m 4/5 done with the Percy Jackson series (just waiting on book 5, which I am borrowing), and while I have a few books on deck, I’d love some suggestions on what to read after that. Anything strike your fancy recently? Leave a comment.

8 responses to “Read Anything Good Lately?

  1. nicole says:

    I’ve wondered about those Percy Jackson books. Do you have the first one?

    I’m reading the new Willie Mays biography. Interesting but kind of dry, at least so far.

    Have you read Sookie Stackhouse books? They’re the inspiration for True Blood, which I don’t watch, but the books are fun, indulgent reads that don’t tax my brain in the least. That’s a good thing. 😉

  2. macayla says:

    The new Louisa May Alcott bio is fantastic. It’s very well written and reads more like a novel than a dry bio.

    I also enjoyed the Robin Hood series by Stephen Lawhead. I want to read his other novels now.

    Currently, I’m enjoying The Scarlet Letter, but for some reason I doubt you’ll want to revisit that story. 😉

  3. hollisonjourney says:

    Nicole: I have the first 4. I’m trying to borrow the 5th (and last), but I may break down and stop by Recycled today and get it. They are a quick read, but pretty good. I was never a big fan of mythology, but I like this twist on it. Is Travis coming to the Saturday retreat? I’ll bring them from him to deliver if you want. I don’t watch True Blood either, but I’ve got the Sookie Stackhouse books on my list.

    MJA: That Alcott bio is definitely on my list as well! I’ll have to check out the Robin Hood series. And yeah, I’m pretty good with not re-reading about Hester Prynne. though I’d take her over Pip. Or Ethan Frome. Or The Good Earth.(I think we’ve exhausted the books I didn’t like in school. Except that horrible Mythology, but I alluded to that above!)

  4. nicole says:

    Travis is going to the retreat, so that would be great. Just in time for our camping trip. Do you use paperbackswap.com? I’ll check and see if the fifth book is available if you want me to.

  5. hollisonjourney says:

    Sweet! I will bring them for him. I used to use PBS, but I got tired of waiting for people to want my books.

  6. nicole says:

    I read all 4 books this week! So funny and easy to get through. Did you end up buying the 5th one? If yes, I want to borrow it when you are done. If no I might buy it, I don’t know if I can wait to borrow it from the library or something.

  7. hollisonjourney says:

    Nicole,

    whoops! Missed your comment there. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed them. I haven’t bought the 5th one. I checked Recycled and they didn’t have it. I thought one of the teens was going to let me borrow it, but I haven’t seen him in awhile.

  8. nicole says:

    I might buy it then.

Leave a Reply

