Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

7 x 4 = 28

on September 8, 2010

I’ve always heard that your tastebuds change every 7 years, so you should keep trying foods. Honestly, I kind of thought it was made up. A sneaky way to get us to try yucky foods again.

Recently however, I’d have to say I agree, because at 28 years old, I find myself liking foods I never liked before.

A small sample of my new loves:

Tomatoes In the past, yuck-o. While I like things made from tomatoes, I never liked them as a fruit/vegetable/whatever. I avoided them in salads and picked them from my sandwiches and burgers (though I left them in burgers sometimes). All of sudden, I like them. Not just in salads and sandwiches and burgers and tacos, but one day I found myself slicing up a tomato, sprinkling a little salt and pepper on it and EATING IT AS IS. What the heck?

Tea Iced tea is a staple at my family dinner table. Mom and Dad drank iced tea with every dinner (and some lunches). Unsweetened, non-flavored, cold, brewed (never instant) tea. My sister and I drank milk. I thought iced tea was horrible. Hot tea was even worse. I even tried flavored teas to see if I liked those. Nope. Recently I tried it again. Today, I drank three cups of hot tea at work. I’m not 100% sold on cold tea, but it doesn’t taste nearly as bad to me anymore.

My mom’s enchiladas Oh man, did I used to not like these. Your typical rolled enchiladas were just fine, provided they were covered with sour cream sauce or queso or even chili sauce. But I really didn’t like red enchilada sauce, so my mom’s enchiladas were definitely out. You see, my mom’s family comes from El Paso so when we say enchiladas, we mean flat stacks of tortillas, cheese and sauce topped with a fried egg. It’s a recipe that no one even has written down, we just all know how to do. But until a year or so ago, I didn’t like them because of that sauce. Then one day, I tried them again, and presto! Amazing!

This is definitely the first time I can remember reversing my opinion on so many foods – it’s kind of weird. I’m now motivated to try knew things. Who knows – maybe my other least favorite family meal will turn into a favorite.

I’m looking at you, Chicken Marango.

One response to “7 x 4 = 28

  1. nicole says:

    I still do not like tomatoes on my sandwiches and burgers, but I do now enjoy them on salads and tacos and such.

    Unsweet iced tea is the nectar of the gods and shame on you for thinking otherwise. 😉

Leave a Reply

