Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

101: Day 1

on March 22, 2011

Inspired by my friend Nicole, who on New Year’s Day made a pledge to be active for 30 minutes a day for 100 days, I am starting my own challenge of being active/working out for at least 30 minutes a day for 101 days. I chose 101 not to “one-up” Nicole, but because if you count today, March 22, 101 days lands you at June 30. I couldn’t stop at 100 and leave the 30th all by itself! (of course, the point of this would be I won’t stop after June 30th!)

The bonus of this is that I plan to blog as frequently as possible as to what exactly my 30 minutes consisted of. I will tell you right now that I do NOT anticipate blogging everyday, but I will do what I can. 🙂

With that all said:

DAY 1

My 30 minutes today was one of my weekly sessions with my personal trainer. Back when I joined the gym, they had a special deal for trainer sessions, so I took advantage of them. Joni and I typically meet twice a week, on Tuesday and Friday mornings, for 30 minutes a session. Tuesday is usually upper body and Friday is lower body. Joni is a lot of fun, but she can also push me! Today was upper body, specifically arms, and I did a lot with free weights, which I like. A good workout, and I’m happy to say that after 2.5 months of sessions, I see a tiny bot of definition in my arms that I haven’t seen before. All good things 🙂

One response to “101: Day 1

  1. nicole says:

    Hooray! I’m 87 days in and already planning to start over again. It feels so great knowing I’ve done something every day, even when it is not a hard workout. I need to do more strength training. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

