Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Day 2, Day 3, Day 4

on March 25, 2011

See! I told ya – sporadic posting. You can pretty much bet that if it’s a Wednesday, there will be no post. Or a Thursday. I currently have meeting in another town those nights, so it tends to be about 10pm before I get home. But, I will catch up!

Wednesday: Day 3

Woke up a little late, so I opted to stay at home and do a workout DVD. I like the 10 Minute Solutions DVDs because you can kind of customize them and Wal-Mart usually has them for about $10. I did a new one on Wednesday: Hip Hop Dance Mix. Having danced as a child, I like the dance DVDs. This one is pretty good. I did the first three exercises,  “Hip Hop Basics”, “Fat Burning Funk” and “Edgy Grooves.”  I’m glad I live alone – I’m sure I looked ridiculous doing some of the moves, but I could feel a burn. And, for the rest of the day, all I heard in my head was instructor Kristin Jacobs saying “You got it!” except she says like “Yoouu got it!” Hard to describe. 🙂

Thursday: Day 3

Thursday I woke up even later than Wednesday and had no time to work out before going to work. I was a little worried I’d break the streak (and so early too!) until I realized something. My meeting that night was at 7, but I usually arrived at 6 (trying to avoid traffic). Since there is a neighborhood park near where my meeting is, I brought a change of clothes and my trusty iPod to take a 30-minute walk. As my father says, no good deed goes unpunished, and as I was finishing my walk and heading to the car, I stepped off a curb funny and rolled my left ankle. 😦

Friday: Day 4

Woke up this morning and the ankle was still tender, but was not swollen or overly painful. I went to the gym for my second personal training of the week: lower body. Of course, when I told my trainer about my ankle, that changed some of the plans, but I was still able to do some hamstring extensions and hip adductions. The ankle is still sore, so looks like the next couple of days will have to focus on upper body!

P.S. If you are a friend of mine and don’t want to read about this, I won’t be offended if you stop reading. This just keeps me accountable!

Leave a Reply

