Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

An Enchanting Evening

on May 13, 2011

image

Had to write about Wednesday night’s activities as they were so fun and so surprising!

After work, I ran home for a quick PBJ (keeping it real) then headed to an adventure! 3 friends and I purchased a LivingSocial voucher for a jewelery making class and we were cashing it in!

Let me preface this by saying that I am not what you would call an “arts and crafts” person. I took art in HS cause I had to. Attempts by my grandma to teach me crocheting, knitting, and cross-stiching resulted in half-finished projects. I can sew a button and that’s about it. My most successful crafts recently have been rosaries, but that’s just tying knots and stringing beads. So clearly, the only way I’m ever going to make jewelery is in a class.

The class was in a small shop owned by the teacher. She used to work for a major crafts store, but left a year ago to open her own shop, The Enchanted Artist (hence my title).

She started by explaining the tools and materials we would be using and then showed us the pattern of necklace we would be copying, as well as explaining some variations. Then it was time to pick our beads! She had out several colors, and I decided to keep it simple while I was learning and went with red with silver accents.

Nancy showed us how to arrange everything and got us started. My friend Kathryn had also picked red beads and we quickly realized that the holes on the red beads were smaller than the others, which meant we had a harder time than everyone else. We struggled for a little bit, but before you knew it, our necklaces were made!

I figured our time was up, but then Nancy said we had time to make earrings! Kathryn and I steered away from red beads this time (I went with blue), and a few minutes late, we all had a necklace and earrings!

It was a lot of fun and surprisingly easy. Nancy keeps the classes small (there were only 6 of us), so it’s easy to see everything and get personal help if needed. The 2 hours flew by and I still can’t believe we went from nothing to something in one night!

Leave a Reply

