Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

I’m baaaack!

on December 21, 2011

Did you miss me?

I neglected this blog for quite some time. But I think I’m back. Probably not a daily poster, but I have a project in 2012, and I want to blog about it.

So, going back to the summer, after a long look at my life, I stepped down from my volunteer position at church. As much as I love the teens, it was time to move on. Plus the time and effort involved was taking a toll on me. I didn’t completely cut ties. Not long after I stepped down, I agreed to serve on an adult retreat team. I figured it was a good move, a little less time and still involvement with people I love. However, I was put in a role that did require some extra time, which was fine (and perfect, seeing as I could never have done it if I was still working with the teens).

By late October, when the retreat was over, my schedule became very free. I am by no means a hermit and my weekends still manage to be busy, but my weekday evenings were now wide open. I started thinking about picking up my on/off relationship with my gym and even went a few times again. I needed a goal though.

Then I got an email from a local running store that they were hosting something called Run Project. Run Project is 7 local races that you can sign up for one at a time, or all at the same time. If you signed up for all of them at the same time, you got a voucher for free running shoes (!). This was a tempting offer. 7 races would definitely be a good goal, and since they were spread out over 2012, it would keep me motivated – I’m too frugal to pay for something and then not do it. Then my friend Jared mentioned he was signing up. Even better. Some one to keep me accountable, plus a friendly face at the races. So, I signed up.

Oh, then I signed up for another 5K because it sounded fun. And I’m looking into doing a race with my friend Amy when I go visit her.

So yes, I’m crazy. And yes, this blog will focus on that, at least for 2012. Sorry if that’s not your cup of tea, but to paraphrase my friend, this is what is new in my life.

One response to “I’m baaaack!

  1. nicole says:

    So glad you’re back! And I wondered why I was seeing less of you at church. I think it is awesome that you are going to spend some time for yourself, after giving so much to others for such a long time. I can’t wait to read about your successes!

Leave a Reply

