Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Race #3 – The Color Run

on February 20, 2012

Back in November/December, I saw an ad on Facebook for something called The Color Run. I looked into it and it’s a 5K race where each Kilometer, you get a “color” thrown on you. The color is a cornstarch-like substance that is dyed a different color. It looked like a lot of fun, so I signed up, along with my friends Michelle, Carrie, Kathryn, and Angela.

Saturday, I had one of the worst “pre-race” moments. I had a stomach ache all day long. I have no idea why but in the afternoon, I felt awful and it was painful to even move. I drank ginger ale and ate Saltines and went to bed, hoping and praying that I would feel better in the morning. Kathryn and Angela had already come down sick and weren’t able to make it, I really didn’t want to miss this.

Thankfully, I woke up Sunday morning feeling MUCH better. Got ready to go and headed out about 7:20. I almost took the DART, but I was going to my parent’s house later and decided to drive. The race was at Fair Park and I knew traffic would be a pain. Sure enough, everything was good until I got to the Fair Park exit. The back-up was atrocious. I was fine with the waiting, but I did not appreciate the people who cut in line -grr. Anyway, made into the parking lot and met up with Michelle and Carrie right as the first wave was leaving. We made it into the third wave and before we knew it, we were off. It was funny to see everyone in white, rarely do you see everyone match at a race. Some people got really creative though and were wearing painters suits, tutus, etc.

After 1K, we approached our first “color zone.” It was yellow and while I had no idea what to expect, it wasn’t bad at all. It had kind of a talcum powder smell and feel and just kind of stuck to everything. It also created a “cloud” of color through the zone. We kept going and color zone 2 was pink, zone 3 was purple, zone 4 was green and zone 5 was, well, kind of everything. By the end we were completely covered in color and it was definitely one of the most fun races I’ve ever had.

I toweled off at my car as much as I could and drove to my parents house, where I immediately threw my clothes in the washer and jumped in the shower. I thought I got everything off (more on that in a minute) and my clothes came out pretty clean – the white shirt looks tie-dyed, but that’s fine by me!

So, I thought I did a good job of getting rid of all my “color,” but today I went to get my hair cut. When my stylist started washing my hair, she said “Did you do the Color Run?” I said yes and she laughed. “I can tell.” Whoops. Guess I didn’t get all of it out!

One response to “Race #3 – The Color Run

  1. nicole says:

    Looks like so much fun! I want to do it next year!

Leave a Reply

