Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

Working my way through a block

on August 8, 2009

As I mentioned in the previous post, I’ve had a little bit of a writer’s block recently, which is why there haven’t been many posts. The words just aren’t coming. So, to try to kick it, I’m going to do some random writing prompts to simply get me back in the game. I hope you will indulge me.

Today’s prompt comes from creativewritingprompts.com:

Take out a photo album and count to picture #14. Write about the picture (I modified the prompt slightly).

I have some albums, but I don’t know where they are, so I opened the pictures file on my computer and went to the 14th picture in the first album/folder. Here it is:

Leadership

This photo was taken in February 2002, at a very special retreat – Raider Awakening. Rather than describe the picture, I’ll tell you about the people in the picture and maybe a memory or two about them.

Right to Left:

Becky (Dr. Seuss hat): Becky was one of my early friends at Tech. We lived in the same dorm and bonded one night while re-arranging her room (she did that frequently). Becky was my first “Catholic” friend, and eventually introduced me to CSA and everyone else. I don’t think enough credit is given to her for my eventual conversion. She was an important role in my faith journey and I owe her a lot. Plus, she’s a lot of fun!

Andi (green shirt, curly hair): I didn’t know Andi very well, but I always thought she was a lot of fun. She brings a ton of energy and joy into the room and has one of the best smiles. I’ve actually gotten to know her more over the years and I wish we had hung out more in college. She and her husband live in Arizona and they have a precious new son.

Stephanie (clipboard in back): I really didn’t know Stephanie at all, but I remember her mainly as being the coordinator of RA#26 when I retreated.

Damian (crown): Damian is a teddy bear of a guy who has his own unique style. A frequent visitor of the 15th Street house, Damian often brought the party with him (black backpack, anyone?) A few years ago (wow, seems sooner!), he married my friend Meredith and it was one of the funnest receptions I’ve been to.

Jon: (Dr. Seuss hat): Most of you that know me know that I could write pages about Jon. It’s funny to see him this long ago. If I remember correctly, he was a junior at Tech at the time, so it’s hard to believe he is an ordained priest now. It’s also hard to believe that when this photo was taken, we had known each other for only 4 months.

Scott (camera): Scott was a lot of fun, but honestly, I haven’t seen him in years. He stopped coming around not long after RA#27 if I remember correctly.

Tori (cowboy hat): Tori is one of the sweetest girls I’ve ever met. Most of my knowledge of her comes from the time I used to hang out at Jeff’s house (her eventual husband), and it was always fun when she was there. She *just* gave birth to her third child and Lilly is beautiful!

So much has changed since this picture was taken. But I still remember the feel of that day. That weekend has a special place in my heart.


One response to “Working my way through a block

  1. Jon says:

    So… I love this picture. Not only is it one of the pictures that proved I once had an actual jaw-line (haha), it also reminds me of a very wonderful retreat! It was your retreat Holly and it was also my brother Greg’s! Good times… good times.

Leave a comment