Hollison Journey

“The road of life twists and turns and no two directions are ever the same. Yet our lessons come from the journey, not the destination.” – Don Williams Jr

New Recipe #1

on January 13, 2010

Goal 14 of my 2010 Goals is to make 10 new recipes. A few months ago, my friend Nicole shared a recipe that I really wanted to try. With the cold weather and a new slow-cooker, I thought now was the perfect time to try my hand at Slow-Cooked Lasagna.

(sorry, no pics)

It was delicious. Of course, due to meetings and other events, I didn’t even start on this until nearly 7pm, so dinner was at about 10pm, meaning we probably would have eaten anything. But is really is good.

Things I love about it:
1) I am not a fan of Ricotta cheese. The alfredo substitution is wonderful!
2) Like a lot of Italian foods, it is even better the next day!
3) It was fairly simple. The hardest part was browning the ground beef, and that’s not even hard.

A few things I will change for next time:
1) My slow-cooker must be slightly larger than the one this is planned for, so next time I will increase the meat mixture a little and try to stretch the Alfredo sauce a little farther.
2) Carrie and I agreed that it is so gooey/mushy after it had been cooked, next time we will make it a day in advance, refrigerate it overnight, and then reheat the next day. I brought some leftovers today for work and they were amazing.

Thanks for sharing Nicole!


One response to “New Recipe #1

  1. nicole says:

    I’m glad y’all liked it. Travis has also said that he would like it to be a little firmer, but I like it just the way it is. I’m not a big leftover eater though. If I’m being smart I’ll remember to brown meat for a double batch and freeze some for future use, since that is the longest part of the preparation.

Leave a comment